Let’s Hear It For Autumn!

Today’s Google doodle heralds the beginning of Autumn.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 08.49.57Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 08.49.04

The autumn equinox – or ‘equal night’ – means that for those of us in the Northern hemisphere, today, our day and night will be of equal length. Satisfying.

Down in the Southern Hemisphere, they will be experiencing the first day of spring, and whilst Antarctic residents celebrate the first appearance of the sun in six long months, those at the North Pole brace themselves for 26 weeks of darkness.

But I should know better than to try and explain the tilt of the earth’s axis. The point is, yesterday’s was the first morning that made me think ‘winter is coming’ (casual GoT reference). I took the dog for a walk, saw my breath in the air and made the call: today is a coat day. I loved it.

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 09.55.09

My excitement for the autumn and winter months is perhaps not shared by many, but for those of you pining for a final summers day, I suggest the following: open your windows, get cosy, and cast your diets aside…summer is over! That’s right, no more leg-shaving, self-tanning, skimpy clothing frenzies. No more humidity to damage our hair and make our clothing stick to our flesh. No more writhing in bed because you just can’t get comfy in the heat. And NO MORE SALAD! That’s right, ‘tis the season for all things pumpkin flavoured.

Also, not something I rejoice in personally, but football season? That happens now doesn’t it?


For weeks here in the UK, we’ve been inundated with ‘back to school’ advertisements. Uniforms, stationary, lunch boxes, etc. It’s the stuff I used to get really excited about when I was little. This week I accepted an, albeit very last minute, place at York University to study for my Masters, and my Dad’s first comment? ‘I suppose you’ll be needing a new pencil case then?’

No matter how far we are from our school days, autumn retains an air of new beginnings. For my family, this autumn is particularly exciting. We’re anticipating two births, an 80th birthday, and for myself, the move to a new town.

So, as old leaves fall from the trees, we’re faced with the figurative opportunity to turn over new ones. Perhaps September, not January, should be the time for resolutions.

Here are mine:

  1. Know more about current affairs.
  2. Tell new jokes.
  3. Stop worrying.

So, whether you relish the falling leaves or struggle to wave goodbye to the sun, Autumn is here – enjoy it!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Let’s Hear It For Autumn!

  1. I like your blog, although here in the South west of the UK we have not yet had to break out our coats (gloat)
    Even so, I shall take your advice and stop shaving my legs and dieting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

